AutomationDirect Customer Forum  

Welcome to the AutomationDirect Customer Forums.
These forums are intended as a place for AutomationDirect customers to help one another, share information, and share ideas.
The forums are not routinely monitored by AutomationDirect Technical Support staff. While staff members may answer questions occasionally, for a prompt response to a problem please contact Technical Support directly at: 1(800) 633-0405 or (770) 844-4200 or e-mail Tech Support.

For product questions, start here: Online Manuals and Product Inserts


Go Back   AutomationDirect Customer Forum > Communications

Reply
 
Bookmark and Share Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2012, 03:37 PM
tcross tcross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Manchester, Ohio USA
Posts: 12
Simple Recieve

Is there a way to use port 2 to just receive a few bytes without having to use the fancy RX or WX commands which are intended to be used on a master/slave type network. I just need a command to read the receive buffer and write it to V memory.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2012, 03:54 PM
tcross tcross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Manchester, Ohio USA
Posts: 12
I am using a DL0-5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2012, 04:06 PM
bcarlton bcarlton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 3,621
What type of communication are you receiving? For ASCII type information you'll need at least a DL06. It can be a Modbus slave if the sending device can use that protocol.
__________________
thePLCguy

Bernie

Last edited by bcarlton; 04-14-2012 at 04:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2012, 04:20 PM
tcross tcross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Manchester, Ohio USA
Posts: 12
I was just using the 'print' command to display counts on a LED display. I want to be able to send a character such as "R" to the DL-05 to reset the count. I will probably end up getting a modbus screen anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2012, 12:54 PM
Cap Cap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Luis Obispo, Ca,USA
Posts: 163
Contact tech Dept..

I just looked at an OLD program that I did a few years ago, and I was reading in a Scann from the Bar Code reader on an '05.. the read came in the Port Two, and went directly to V Mem of my Choice.. I had to look at the Mem all the time to make sure I did not miss anything..

I had to contact Tech when I did this program, as the Port Config for the '05 was not published data..

The Program Remenants I have do not have Documentation on them.. just RLL.

I was also able to transplant this Program into a 450 CPU, when the I/O outgrew the '05


Cap
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2012, 03:42 PM
tcross tcross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Manchester, Ohio USA
Posts: 12
OK, thanks, then there is some hope.

I did call tech support and when they hear ASCII and DL-05 they don't like it and say it is not possible.

I did find some data that says the recieved characters go to the vmemory pointed to by the contents of V7650 but when I look there using data view and send some charaters I never see the characters I sent go into vmemory. There must be another step or two.

Never say never
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2012, 05:33 PM
Cap Cap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Luis Obispo, Ca,USA
Posts: 163
Send me a PM with your E-Mail Adress.. I have a 3 Meg PDF file that Exceedes the 1Meg limit on this forum.. I'll send you the PDF's of the Sheets I recieved back in '98 about this..

Cap
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:26 PM
bcarlton bcarlton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 3,621
I had those instructions also but since the 05 doesn't support the PRINT command I never looked at it for ASCII capability.

The data section pointed to by V7650 start with one word for status, the next word indicates the number of characters. The next word is the start of the actual data packed two ASCII characters per word.

As it notes, set up everything, including the pointer in V7650, before triggering that 'accept' command. I think if anything's out of permissible settings it rejects everything.
__________________
thePLCguy

Bernie
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:10 PM
tcross tcross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Manchester, Ohio USA
Posts: 12
It works great now. What bcarlton said was written on page 42 of what Cap sent, and was my problem.

Thanks to the both of you!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2012, 09:09 PM
Cap Cap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Luis Obispo, Ca,USA
Posts: 163
YUP..

Never throw NOTHIN away..

Glad you got it workin..

Cap
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-20-2012, 10:23 AM
tcross tcross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Manchester, Ohio USA
Posts: 12
Just letting bcarlton know the 05 does support the print command. It works well and is easy to use. It's under the instruction collection called messaging. I can now send and receive characters and data bytes.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-20-2012, 11:32 AM
bcarlton bcarlton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 3,621
I see what you mean. I was looking under the ASCII command group.
__________________
thePLCguy

Bernie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
port 2, receive, recieve buffer

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.