AutomationDirect Customer Forum  

Welcome to the AutomationDirect Customer Forums.
These forums are intended as a place for AutomationDirect customers to help one another, share information, and share ideas.
The forums are not routinely monitored by AutomationDirect Technical Support staff. While staff members may answer questions occasionally, for a prompt response to a problem please contact Technical Support directly at: 1(800) 633-0405 or (770) 844-4200 or e-mail Tech Support.

For product questions, start here: Online Manuals and Product Inserts


Go Back   AutomationDirect Customer Forum > Operator Interface

Reply
 
Bookmark and Share Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2012, 10:09 AM
ime020 ime020 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
hmi communication timeout

hi
i am using a cmore EA7 S6C HMI with a GE fanuc veramax 23point PLC,
one of the problems i am having is that after i restart my whole system(meaning switching the power off and then on)
i get a commnication timeout error, to fix this i have to manually put the PLC in stop mode and then in run mode again.
i would like to know if there is a way that i dont have do this...the reason being is that the PLC will be locked in a panel. or if there are some settings that i can change to help me with this(poll time?)
or if through programming there exists a solution?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2012, 01:41 PM
Steve Bailey Steve Bailey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 299
I suspect the error you're seeing is due to the C-More completing its power-on sequence before the PLC does. To test whether this is the case, try waiting until you see the run LED on the PLC before you turn on power to the PLC. If it turns out to be the cause, you could set up the C-More to power up to a screen without any tag values displayed on it and letting the user navigate to other screens once the PLC is running.

My experience with C-Mores has been that PLC timeout errors due to the PLC being offline are self-healing. This is true whether the offline condition was due to the PLC being powered down or the cable being disconnected. Eventually the C-More establishes communication with the PLC and the error message goes away. If it persists, I suggest you take a look at the C-More's error history for more details about what PLC address the C-More was trying to read from or write to when it generated the error.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:57 PM
ime020 ime020 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
thanks steve.
I experimented by powering my hmi a little bit later than plc(when Run led was on), but still the problem persists.I want to fix this problem as it is not possible that every time the worker has to use this machine ,he would have to open the panel box and make a transition between and stop and run mode.
Waiting for any reply
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2012, 03:01 PM
ime020 ime020 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
I also did some experimentation with poll time.Default cmore poll time is 0.i increased it to 15,but the problem is there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2012, 03:54 PM
Bob S BN Bob S BN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin-USA
Posts: 954
Since, as Steve mentioned, CMORE communication time out faults are self healing, (IE once communications get established, the fault goes away by itself) I would be looking at the PLC as the problem child.

I took a quick look at the GE manual and saw stuff about port set up and power up defaults, fault handling related to the "stop/run" switch, etc...

I think a good look at the PLC manual will get this problem solved. Perhaps some faults can be read by the GE programming software to give a clue as to what is happening at power up.
__________________
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2012, 05:10 PM
Steve Bailey Steve Bailey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 299
What address in the PLC is the C-More trying to read when the fault occurs? To find out, you may need to look at the C-More's error log. It gives you details on exactly what transaction between the C-More and the PLC caused the error. To get to the error log, touch and hold the upper left corner of the display to get to the C-More setup menu.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2012, 09:07 AM
ime020 ime020 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bailey View Post
What address in the PLC is the C-More trying to read when the fault occurs? To find out, you may need to look at the C-More's error log. It gives you details on exactly what transaction between the C-More and the PLC caused the error. To get to the error log, touch and hold the upper left corner of the display to get to the C-More setup menu.
The address mentioned in the error log of cmore are some %R addresses %R242,%R493,%R1372,%R1339,%R1164.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2012, 09:19 AM
Bob S BN Bob S BN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin-USA
Posts: 954
I presume those are addresses tagged to objects on your CMORE start up page, or in the ALARM or Graph objects in the CMORE.

The fact that the CMORE can't read them still makes me think something is not right in the PLC power up sequence. Perhaps the comm port setup is not right at power up. Is there code in the PLC ladder logic that sets up the port?
__________________
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-03-2012, 12:58 PM
ime020 ime020 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
thanks steve.
The problem has been solved .I put a very high value (270 msec)in the poll time.Any value below this does not solve my problem.but this high value of delay has made my hmi less responsive(a little bit slow).I want to decrease that delay.what should i do?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.