D0-06 dd1 with stepper drive/motor controled by plc

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• D0-06 dd1 with stepper drive/motor controled by plc

Im new to plc. Although i have good knowledge with cnc machines and their programming Im having trouble setting up a plc to run a standalone stepper with two limits and to switches for left right movement.

Basically I want to be able to push or turn a switch and as long as i hold it it will move right until I hit a limit. Then I want to be able to push another switch and it will move left until I hit a limit as long as the switch is activated.

I know I have to be in mode 30 for this. But I have read and read and cant figure out how to get into mode 30, as well as program the plc to preform the function above.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Appendix E of the DL06 User Manual has a sample program under the Mode 30 section.

Try example 3 on page 53.
    If you have an urgent issue, please contact AutomationDirect's Technical Support team.

AutomationDirect.com Technical Support: 1(800) 633-0405 or (770) 844-4200 Email Tech Support

Comment

Thanks. Thats getting me off to a start. But seeing that I need it to only move as long as Im holding the switch, wouldn't i need to use the Velocity Profile? Also I wont need a homing switch due to manual movement by a contact switch. What would be the best way to adapt the example do you think?

Thanks

Comment

Velocity might be better for a continuous move. You will probably need to experiment a bit until you find what works best for your application.
        If you have an urgent issue, please contact AutomationDirect's Technical Support team.

AutomationDirect.com Technical Support: 1(800) 633-0405 or (770) 844-4200 Email Tech Support

Comment

Ok i have my plc programmed and wired up for a desktop test. Imputs and outputs lights trigger but im getting no signal to the stepper drive. Any ideas of what I maybe missing?

Comment