AC stepper motors?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AC stepper motors?

I have some experience with DC stepper motors (STP-MRXXXX), but browsing, I came across the AC (STP-MTRACXXX) kind. At rough glance, they seem to be superior in almost every way. Is there somewhere I can find more info on them, comparing AC/DC steppers, and notes on when it's best to select either?
    Thanks

The motor themselves are not AC driven, generally it's the drives that are AC powered. This solves a couple of issues: 1. You don't need to supply a separate DC supply and 2. The internal DC voltage bus is at a higher voltage.

The higher the voltage you use with a stepper, the better its performance. The speed of a stepper is going to be limited to how fast you can commutate it. That's determined by how fast you can charge the windings (inductance limited, higher voltage = better). You're also going to be limited to the current the windings can handle so that's why almost all modern drives will chop the output. It will use a higher voltage than the steppers listed voltage but only momentarily up to the current limit.

There are some other motor types that are high pole count 'steppers' that are AC driven. Also, microstepping is using AC to drive a stepper but that's more for increasing resolution (to a point) and smoothness, not usually for performance.

On the other side of things they have closed loop steppers which work a few different ways are are somewhat similar to steppers but have various ways of closing the loop allowing them to do interesting things like running in four quadrant mode.

Comment

"they seem to be superior in almost every way" perhaps your "rough glance" missed the price? or was that the "almost"?
      Sure, one has to buy the power supply separately with the lower voltage models, but it still could be less expensive and in a multi motor application sharing the supply it might be quite a bit less.