Do-more directly connected to servo valve question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do-more directly connected to servo valve question

Hi, I am new to servo valves. I have for years cycled hydraulic cylinders back and forth for life cycle testing on certain fixtures. We use a vickers on/off 12VDC valve and a couple of pressure transducers. We used an AutomationDirect Koyo 405 series PLC to control the process. We cycle the cylinder back and forth based on pressure/force. Extend cylinder till 500PSI/1500LBS, then retract cylinder till 690PSI/1500LBS. Repeat. Now we are upgrading to the Do-more PLC and would like to get faster cycle times and less overshoot. The cylinders are normal generic hydraulic cyclinders, not actuators.

I have a Moog 760C264A servo valve. It has 80 Ohm Coils and uses +/-20mA. I ordered a F2-02DA-1 2 Channel Analog Current Output Module for the Do-more. It outputs 4-20mA. The conversion settling time is 100uS full scale. The Do-more scan times are usually sub millisecond. I also have an 8 channel analog input card F2-08AD-2 which has a 4mS step response time.

Can I control generic hydraulic cylinders with the Moog 760 directly connected to the F2-02DA-1? I would be using the analog input card to read a pressure transducer or a load cell. Do I need to have a separate routine from my main ladder program applying a dither signal to the valve? If so, do I apply with the same outputs or parallel outputs from another Current Output Module to the Moog?

Am I way off and need a completly different system with amplifiers and such?

Sorry for the blather...not the best at explaining things.

I have a similar application using Parker servo valves and the DO-06 processor. Your problem may be in the servo valve as it is looking for a -20 to +20 signal for full stroke. You may need an analog converter for this. I used the Dataforth unit.