Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

GL-06, H0_CTRIO, STP-DRV-4850 - how to move?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GL-06, H0_CTRIO, STP-DRV-4850 - how to move?

Hi,

I have no background in PLCs, stepper motors, controllers, etc. and I am learning as I go.

I've got a DL-06 with H0_CTRIO connected to a STP-DRV-4850 step motor driver. CTRIO Y0 goes to the 4850 STEP-, and Y1 goes to the 4850 DIR-. On the 4850, DIR+ and STEP+ are wired to +5V.

I've used SureStep to configure the motor driver for the motor we're using. I've used the CTRIO workbench to configure the H0_CTRIO. Out0/1 is Pulse Output Step/Direction and output memory is mapped to V2030. I'm using DirectSOFT 5 to try to run the Velocity mode example from the HX-CTRIO-M manual Chapter 8.

Instead of the rising edge C0 from the example, I'm using a normally closed pushbutton to start the setting initialization. This pushbutton, when depressed, also is supposed to stop the motor. I'm setting the direction by just doing a SET on B2056.4.

I run the instructions, and I can see that the SP0 first scan occurs. I can see when I press the button to start the motor. If the PLC has the RUN mode switch on, I can see that something happens with the CTRIO Y0 and Y1. Unfortunately, the motor doesn't move.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
    Mark
    Last edited by Mark_F; 12-16-2011, 08:38 AM. Reason: Correct PLC identifier

Also, In the example Velocity Mode logic, there is a step where you do a LD V3000 as "Target Velocity (Decimal)." Is V3000 actually a location in memory rather than a speed?

Thanks,
    Mark

Comment

V3000 is the address of a location in memory . The instruction is loading its contents, which may very well represent a speed.
      thePLCguy

Bernie

Comment

Thanks for confirming what I suspected. I'm not intentionally loading anything into the V3000 memory location, so I'll either need to set that up or load a value directly.