Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slow Modbus Port 2 RS485 comms...

Hello all,

I have a DL06 (Master) talking to a rabbit 3000 series board ( Slave ) via port 2. I am using ModbusTPU over RS485 @ 38.4 kbaud.

Although my program is communicating OK, it is only transmitting every 500mS.

I believe it is being limited by the Modbus base timeout ( 500mS ) X 1 setting, however, i thought that the response timeout was for only when there was an error. The timeout should reset upon a successful reply, no?

I am doing a MWX on every scan, but only when SP116 is off.

I have a counter tied to SP117, but am getting no increment, so no port 2 errors.

Anybody have any ideas on what could be limiting the throughput or ideas on how to speed it up ( higher than 2 hertz)?

Thanks Chuck.

Our use of port 2 for Modbus RTU over RS485 gives us many more transmissions per second. I believe between 20 - 30.

Post your rungs for the transmission and the monitoring of SP117. Make sure the rung for monitoring SP117 is before the MWX in the scan. I believe you are getting errors. Monitor the V registers you have set for the error code.
    thePLCguy

Bernie

Comment

You were correct about the errors. I moved SP117 to before the MWX and could see the error count. Nothing in the exception response buffer, however. I slowed the interval to 1 second and still get the errors. I will now fiocus on the slave program in the rabbit board, unless you have any ideas?

Thanks!

Chuck

Click image for larger version

Name:	PLC1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	96784

Originally posted by bcarlton View Post
      Our use of port 2 for Modbus RTU over RS485 gives us many more transmissions per second. I believe between 20 - 30.

Post your rungs for the transmission and the monitoring of SP117. Make sure the rung for monitoring SP117 is before the MWX in the scan. I believe you are getting errors. Monitor the V registers you have set for the error code.

Comment