Productivity PLC for MODBUS Simulation

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Productivity PLC for MODBUS Simulation

I am new to the PLC game, and need a little help.

I am having to develop a MODBUD simulator to test a monitoring system. I will be using MODBUS RTU to communicate with a master device. I am trying to determine if the Productivity PLC's can be programmed to change a MODBUS value on a timed basis. I need it to hold a value for 30-60 minutes and then change to another value.

Any advice?

Since not many folks are around this evening, the short answer is yes, it can. I don't do Productivity yet myself, but it should be more than capable. Do-more and Click PLCs are also capable, given a processor with the right ports. Maybe someone will chime in later.

Comment

Mike, I agree - on all counts.
      1. not many folks around
      2. the short answer is yes.
      3. someone will chime in later

One issue is OPs usage of the word 'MASTER' in conjunction with RTU!
      From the wiki:
      In serial and MB+ networks, only the node assigned as the Master may initiate a command.
      On Ethernet, any device can send out a Modbus command, although usually only one master device does so.

If PAC is to spit out values on an interval, will the 'MASTER' be listening?
      Maybe the MASTER is querying the PAC. If so, great - this would NOT require any Modbus comms code in the PAC.
      We don't yet know.

given a processor with the right ports
      I think that all PAC CPUs have 1 - RS-232 port and 1 - RS485 port.

Mr. Moose, please provide some more info. Thanks.

Comment

Yes, the master device will be polling. Sorry for not providing enough info, still new at this.

Comment

Should not be a problem then.

You will need to assign a Modbus register address to your PAC TAG.
          You will have code to change this tag's value, but no code to send, since this will be a RESPONSE to the MASTER's query.