Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Communication - Productivity 2000 to foreign purchased machine via ethernet

Hi guys,

I have a Productivity 2000 PLC and I am trying to communicate with a foreign purchased machine over Ethernet.
    This is my first time using a Productivity series PLC and my first time trying to setup communication to something outside of the AutomationDirect world and thought I would run my thoughts by you guys to see if I am on the right track.

I have attached a cut down (due to upload size limit) version of the foreign machines documentation (everything to do with remote communication).

According to the foreign machines documentation:
    - I need to put it in remote control mode (via their HMI)
    - I need to configure the IP address and subnet mask to match my PLCs settings.
    - There are 18 (0 -> 17) words to read for status (I would like to read all of these every ~2 seconds) and 7 (0 -> 6) words to write for control.

In my PLC I believe I need to:
    - Setup the Ethernet port via Hardware Configuration
    - Create a connection to the foreign machine by going CPU -> Choose CPU -> Add Connection -> enter IP address of foreign machine (leave port 9999?)
    - Create a 1D Boolean Array tag for each word that I am trying to read/write to?
    - Create RX and WX ladder logic
    -- TCP port number?
    -- Tagname mapping
    ---Array
    ----Array tag of this project
    ----Array tag of remote project (grayed out and thus I cannot add this instruction...)

Do I need to do anything with the Ethernet/IP adapter or scanner?

Hopefully you can see where I am at with what I have posted, would appreciate any guidance.

P.S. The foreign machine will only be powered up for the first time in about a weeks time so can't test anything at this stage.
    Attached Files

It's not going to work that way.