Implementing RS 232 communication

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Implementing RS 232 communication

I'm new to PLC programming, my normal work is as a firmware engineer programming in C for embedded systems.

I am writing logic on a Productivity 2000 (P2-550) for RS 232 communications. I have written a task to be called every second to send out an alive message over the RS 232 connection. I am seeing the data sent out with a terminal program on my PC but it is only sent once.

I have a basic task, load the data into an array and send out the RS232 port. I am sending the data out with ASCII Out. I have logic in the task to indicate this task is being called every second and the ASCII Out instruction is being called. I also have InProcess and Complete bits defined for ASCII Out. I see these bits only set one time. I am clearing out the Complete bit before issuing the ASCII Out and I never see this bit get set again.

I have looked for any app notes for RS 232 communications at Automation Direct but haven't found any that I'm aware of.

I expect that the RS 232 has to have something reset or set before another message can be sent out. I've dealt with RS 232 ports on embedded system and know that something has to be done before another one can be sent out. So what needs to be done here?

you ca use ascii over rs232. that will allow you to connect like you already did, from pc to plc. you know to configure the serial, has to be the same at both ends.
    you can also use modbus over rs232. plc supports it, question is if the the other end does.
    either way, the send block controls the transfer.
    I have a click plc so can help out this way, which I assume is similar to your plc.
    on my plc, if I needed a text sent out every two seconds, I would do this:
    1. I would set up a timer to trigger my transfer every two seconds