p2-550 remote i/o to the gs4 drive comm error

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• p2-550 remote i/o to the gs4 drive comm error

Hi this is my very first project with AD plc and their drives. I have the drives configured and program in the plc and i also have a cmore 15 inch hmi for setting my acc dec and freg and to monitor the current and such out of the drive.
    my problem is that if i cycle the power to the drives the comms locks up another words the in progress on my gs drive write in the program gets stuck on in progress and the only to get it to reset and start working again is to cycle the cpu power,
    Any help would be muchly appreciated
    Thanks Greg

If you are communicating with Modbus and there is a fault in communications, the success bit may never turn on.
    The error bit should come on though and the exception value should show the cause. ie comm timeout.
    If the success bit is used to go to the next item to be read, then it will hang there.
    If the error bit comes on, it can be used to go to the next item or reset the communications at the first item.
    You may have to put some logic along with it as a read/write step may be missed.

Comment

Good morning On my last post i didnt explain the problem quit right. I was told by support at ad that the easiest way to control the drives with productivity is to set them up as remote I/O so this is what i have done.
      so in the software for my P2-550 processor they have made a GSW instruction and a GSR instruction in order to control the drives. Pretty simply "It would seem" , But it has not been.
      My processor has ver 1.2.7.37 firmware My drive has 1.30 firmware and my modtcp card has 1.02 firmware, so all of my devices have the latest firmware in them.