Ethernet/IP between P2K and PC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ethernet/IP between P2K and PC

Hello all, I am pretty new to all of this so I'm hoping my question has a simple answer. Basically, I'm trying to send data from a P2K (acting as a server) to my PC running a Python script (client). I followed the AutomationDirect video for setting the PLC up as an adapter found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNGIgqi0AYQ. I have the PLC connected to the same network as my PC, which is verified by the fact I can program the PC over Ethernet and see its IP in the Productivity Suite software.

When looking at the network traffic using Wireshark, I see UDP data being transmitted (or at least I think) from the IP of the PLC (and port 9999) to the IP of my PC (port varies if connection is changed) roughly every 250ms. I have not set up any timers regarding this so maybe this is the default I'm not sure, but that's a problem for another day. Also something of mention is when clicking "Help" on the Ethernet/IP Adapter in Productivity Suite, it mentions port 44818 and TCP, but Wireshark does not show any such data.

The real issue that I'm running into is I'm not seeing any data on the client side. When running my Python script, the program is hanging at a specific point, which is due to it not receiving data. I have successfully set up server/client communications where both are done in Python using my local machine, which makes me think the problem is either on the end of the PLC or some sort of networking thing that I don't understand. As I said, from Wireshark it appears the data is there (although from what I understand Wireshark sees the traffic before anything else, such as Firewall [which I've tried disabling]), but somehow my client is not receiving it. If anyone has any insight I would greatly appreciate it.