Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am Brand new to PLC's trying to write a timing loop

Hi Everyone,
    I work at a company with really old equipment they are trying to automate. I have worked a lot with CNC's and very competent with Electro/mechanical repairs. However I have nnever worked with PLC's and someone suggested from eng-tips that Click was a good choice for me, which I agree.

What I am trying to do is write a simple timing sequence that when I close a contact two solenoids enter in a timing sequence until contact is opened again.
    I.E. X1 contact is closed, 2 seconds passes, solenoid 1 actuates for a 1/2second , another 2 seconds solenoid 2 actuates for a 1/2 second, then sol 1 then 2 etc until x1 is opened. Basically both solenoids are on 4 second cycles staggered evenly form each other. I can get a timer to work once, but how do I loop it.

it is probably obvious, I will be researching all weekend on programming this.

Thanks in advance

you need to break the rung the timer is on to reset the timing function

Comment

Thanks for the quick response Scott, what do you mean break a rung? I have no experience at all with PLC's, this is my very first project. I am reading help section, but so far i can't find this particular function

Comment

sorry about the terminology, but it's not in the help files.

think of the rungs in RLL (relay ladder logic) like a set of schematics. Power flows from left to right. In wiring, you use physical contacts to make/break circuits...

a light switch makes/breaks continuity to the light. In RLL, you would use contacts to turn on an output

--l l-----------------( )

making/breaking the logical continuity of the rung would manipulate the output (in this example, turning on the input would turn on the output)

Comment