Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DL 06 cycling

Noob here again...

I've got my code written, the plc linked to my pc with three analog inputs going into three different PID loops for time proportional control of some elements in a heating system. I'm tracking the value of my elements in the data window and everything looks to be behaving itself but the output contacts lights on the plc all click off together about every 10 seconds. I have some 10 sec timers (3ea) in my time proportion code, could they be causing it? Obviously, I don't want my pumps to be cycling on and off every 10 seconds. Any thoughts on what might be causing this?

Thanks,
    Hans

Can you zip your files and post the zip file?
    thePLCguy

Bernie

Comment

geothermal controller.zip

think I got that right.

Comment

OK, let's use the section controlling Y0 through Y3.

Every 10 seconds, controlled by T0 in rung 7, you convert the value in V2005, labled as the output of a PID and ranging from 0 - 4095 I guess, into a BCD number ranging from 0 to 1000 in V2275.

In rung 9 we have Timer T1 with V2275 as a Preset. So it will try to time from 0 to 100 seconds. BUT, every 10 seconds it is being reset by T0.

In rung 10 the outputs are turned off if the accumulator of T0 is zero, which it will be for 1/10 of a second after being reset.

So T1 will never get past 10 seconds - even if the math above comes up with 101 - 1000 as a value (10.1 to 100 seconds), it's being reset every 10 seconds.

The other 3 instances are like this. So, what do you really want to do?

[Edit - I realize you are trying to set up time proportioned outputs. But exactly what timing are you trying to achieve?]
        Last edited by bcarlton; 11-15-2013, 01:46 PM.
        thePLCguy

Bernie

Comment