Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PID Loops with Discrete Outputs

Hello,

I am a beginner with some basic knowledge of ladder logic, but I have come across a roadblock while writing some project code. I have a Productivity3000 series PLC connected to an RTD Sensor and a C-More touchscreen. What I am attempting to do is to control a resistance heater using a PID loop, but have run across an issue that the manuals I've looked at fail to address - what if my heater output is discrete? I've managed to make a very primitive thermostat using the "Compare Values" function, and it does almost what I want it to do - but the temperature overshoots frequently. I think that a PID or PI Loop might mitigate this problem, but I'm not certain how, as it demands an analog output. This confuses me, because I thought that using analog switches with a PID loop was a no-no because of wear on the switches. I currently have a solid state relay controlling my heater instead of a switch. Any help is appreciated.

The help file in the PID instruction shows (The example with the Hot Air Balloon) how to run the PID output with ON & OFF time. So if the output is high then the Relay will be on longer and Off Less, if the output is low then the relay is on for a short time but off longer.

Comment

So, I have the basic process set up as in the help file, but I'm having difficulty getting the process to actually run. Any advice? below is my code.
      Attached Files

Comment

It looks like you didn't assign the 'Current Value' tag in the Simple Timer setup, even though you're using it in the compare function at the bottom.
        Take a look again at the manual where you pulled the example from, and you should see what I mean.

Secondly, your PID1AUTO bit is off, which means the PID loop is in manual mode.

Comment

For heaters, a PID output is a duty cycle based on cumulated effects of P, I, D.