Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to halt program via proximity sensor

Hello All,

I have an EZ420 PLC that I am using in a test bench application and need a little assistance wrapping up a program ( I am fairly new to programming and any assistance is sincerely appreciated). I have a motor/clutch/EMP brake combo that is driving a gearhead/inertia wheel to test the E-stop capability of the gearhead. The inertia wheel has slots that are milled into it that are read by a proximity sensor. My goal is to have the program halt when the proximity sensor does not register any counts after the brake cycle. I am reading the counts during the braking cycle and they are being displayed on the HMI. I am trying to use a LTE command to initiate the shutdown sequence but it is not working (if the prox sensor count register reads less than or equal to 1 energize the coil to run shutdown sequence). The shutdown sequence works but I am not sure how tie it to the sensor register reading 0. I have also tried using an "= to 0" comparator to energize the coil but all that happens is the shutdown sequence is not acknowledged and the cycles continue to run. If anyone has any insight as to how I might get this to work I would sincerely appreciate any insight. Thank you in advance fir your time and have a great day!

Regards,
    Cliff

I recognize EZ420 as an obsolete display from EZAutomation. If you are using a plc from Automation Direct please specify it. Zip and post your current program. Technically you wouldn't halt the program. The program would stop executing a portion of it's program but would otherwise continue operation.
    thePLCguy

Bernie

Comment