PID control on Productivity 1000 for Home Brewing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PID control on Productivity 1000 for Home Brewing

New to the forum and first time posting. I am currently switching my propane home brewing system to an all electric PLC controlled system. I have no previous experience with PLC's or HMI's, so Ladder logic is pretty new to me.

I recently purchased a Productivity 1000 CPU with a P1-15CDD2 Combo Discrete card and a P1-04ADL-1 Analog 0-20mA card. To start with, I will only have a total of 8 I/O in the system for now. Four Analog Inputs for my PT100's. Two Discrete Outputs for relay control of circulation pumps. Two Discrete Outputs for relay control of 5500 watt heating elements. In the future (no hurry till I get the present figured out) I would like to add a couple level switches in my kettles, a few solenoid valves and maybe a load cell for measuring volumes of kettles.

So far I have been able to setup the four Analog PT100's by simply wiring them to the card and setting up the scale function to convert the 0-8191 value to Fahrenheit (nice feature on this series) then using another rung to give me an average over a half second so I don't get so much bounce on the reading. Done this on all four. I also have the two rungs complete for the relays that will control my small Chugger Pumps. Those were simple Out Coils with a NO and NC contacts using another NO to read the coil to maintain power to the coil. I am using AdvancedHMI as my interface. Once I figured out how to assign the Modbus addresses, it went pretty smooth. I tested out all the inputs with this HMI and they all seam to work well. Temps read accurately and I can energize and de-energize my relays though the simple HMI I have set up.