Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USB input to simple PLC

Hi guys,

Question here on how to tie an input that would be USB (output from device) to a simple PLC/pump that has 4 to 20 mA, 0 to 10 VDC, high speed digital pulse, or contact closure pulse as its inputs. I'm new to this type of automation, is there a converter that needs to be incorporated?

Thanks

Can you rephrase the question? I'm not exactly sure what you want to do. Device with USB output connected to a PLC? What is the device?

Comment

I'm sorry, Im still very new to this. Essentially, I want to connect a balance that has a USB to a metering pump that has digital I/O. The input to the pump (from their specifications sheet) is 4 to 20 mA, 0 to 10 VDC, high speed digital pulse. How would I connect to that or adapt from the USB to that? Also, if there is anything you recommend on me reading to familiarize myself more with how these things are hooked up and work, I would gladly read it. Thanks

Comment

I do not know of a device to do that.
        I believe that you will need a different scale (balance).
        You will need a scale with either: Serial out, Ethernet out, or Analog out (4-20ma, 0-5/10v).
        You can then place a PLC between the scale and the metering pump that will convert/scale the signals.
        Circumstances don't determine who we are, they only reveal it.
        Jason Wolthuis

Comment

USB is usually used to interface to a PC and there is probably PC software for your scale. As plcnut said, you will want a scale with an output designed to go into other units like PLCs sending either serial messages or a direct analog out. I find direct analog signals much easier to deal with in PLCs than taking in an ascii message from a scale, which rarely have good documentation on how to implement them.