P2k Analog Input Issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• P2k Analog Input Issues

Short disclaimer, I've only been working with PLC's for the past few months so I am by no means an expert. That said, I have a P2k with a 7-slot base as shown below. There is a lot going on with this setup so I'll try to keep it simple; if more info is needed just let me know.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image_3473.png
Views:	1
Size:	138.8 KB
ID:	117708

I'm using the PLC as the brain for a tester of ECU's that my company designs. I've got a 12V power supply, a 24V power supply, a couple boards simulating loads for specific components the ECU's see and an HMI; everything works great except some of the analog inputs (on the P2-16AD-2).

I am using it to measure five different voltage signals and only three of them work. I have tried a few things to determine what it could be but all I have determined is that I have no idea what's going on; I have tried switching to different channels (including ones I know work) to see if its just a faulty channel, I have tried switching out the module entirely to see if its just a faulty module, and I have tried switching them with one of the three working channels out of curiosity. I've had no luck with any of these methods.

The first signal that's failing starts at around 9.5V and drops to around 5V in certain subroutines. I've measured the current through the module and observed the voltage with a multimeter and an oscilloscope to verify this is actually happening and that it's happening within the safe parameters for the module. When the subroutines are called, the signal seems to freeze and stay at 9.5V (about 61000 counts).

The second signal is similar. It goes from 0V to 8V and 9V (in separate subroutines), however, I don't see any change. I have measured this signal the same as the first with the same results. Unfortunately, I can't tell if its freezing or not for this one since it starts at 0V.