Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Input and Output card addressing DL06 and DL205

Hi everyone..
    I'm new to PLC's and trying to teach myself a new skill... I built up a trainer at home with a DL06 unit and currently just use the factory inputs and outputs for my different connections which is really straight forward and I have learned a lot but now I would like to add additional input and output cards to the base unit. The process I never thought of while I was just using the factory in's and out's on the DL06 is how I can assign an input say X0 to an installed relay output card lets say to trigger a solenoid?? At work we use a lot of the DL205 units with D2-12TR and D2-32ND3-2 cards installed, currently these DL205 units are controlled and monitored by an external computer/software so these units have no ladder programming downloaded to them so I cannot learn much from these.. If anyone can give me a nudge in the right direction I'm sure I can go from there, there are not too many videos online for the DL line of PLC's...
    Thanks!!!
    Greg

You can change the memory assignements somewhere in the DirectSoft program, I cant remember where though as it has been many years since I last did that. I dont think you can actually assign X0 to a module though, I think you can only set the module to start right where the built in IO left off, or anywhere with a greater number. But I dont remember seeing the ability to re-assign the built in IO to different memory locations.

By default the new input card would be set to X100, so your built in would be something like X0-x23, and your first input module would be X100-X117 for example (if you had a 16 input card). If you put a second input module in it would start at X120 and go to X137. An output card then added on would start at Y100. That is how it defaults anyway.