Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie to AD has analog output question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie to AD has analog output question...

Hi All;
    First time posting, I'll try to keep this brief:
    This is my first time programming with AD, and so far it's going really well. Love the data handling methods - very easy to pick up.
    We have a 205 with a d2-260 cpu, and there is one f208da2 analog output card. In the manual it describes the multiplex/pointer method of writing data to the card, but there's an iBox function that seems to make all that unnecessary. The manual makes no mention of any such instruction, so my question is:
    I have configured the ibox to identify the card, the slot, the channels, the data type and the starting V-memory number. I have code written to update the scaled V-memory registers with the desited output level for the two channels we will be using. Is that all I have to do with an iBox analog card configurator? As the data in the registers changes, will the analog card scale its output accordingly, or will I have to activate some other bit or register to make that happen? The installation is a very short time frame, with little opportunity to test the system in advance, so I'd like to be as sure as possible before we wire it in and need it to work.
    Thanks in advance,
    Speakerman.
    "Analog" is still binary, it's just at molecular resolution!

This is for the 05/06 PLC but same thing. Page 10/9-10/11
    http://web1.automationdirect.com/sta...ionsm/ch10.pdf

Comment

speakerman,

Be sure to check firmware revisions on your 260 for compatibility with the Ibox. Working from memory here I think there was a problem with DS5 or DS5.1 and the Ibox. I'm sure it is fixed by DS5.3.
      PERCUSSIVE MAINTENANCE: The fine art of whacking the devil out of an electronic device to get it to work again.

Vaughn

Comment