Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Absolute Encoder Programming

Greetings all!

I am a relative newbie in regards to PLC programming, and a complete Noob with encoders. (I have only used PLCs in the past with switches to do basic controls). So, apologies if this is a silly question.

First off, I have a DL05 and a 256res Absolute Encoder.

My project is a moving theatrical stage platform that simply moves up and down stage to three positions.

I would like the operator to be able to push one button for a desired position, and depending on the position of the encoder, the PLC will determine which direction to move, and when to stop once it has reached the desired position.

Ramping and breaking of the motor, and speed control are already taken care of, I just need some help with the programming.

How do I get the grey code to provide me with a usable number that I can (what I think is the easiest option) use a < or > to determine which way to move.

Please remember I am still new to this, I have little experience with much beyond simple switching and some timers, but understand some basics.

THANKS SO MUCH!

The DL05 supports the Gray instruction which converts the Gray value to a BCD value which can be used for comparisons.
    thePLCguy

Bernie

Comment

Hey bcarlton,

That is exactly where I get stuck.....do you know of anyplace where I might be able to find some example programs using grey code? I have done some searching online and come up with very little.

Thanks!

Comment

Your encoder will take all 8 inputs of the PLC. Will you be adding an additional IO card for the operator pushbuttons?

As far as the programming goes. You will need to translate the inputs to the Vmemory address. this can be found on page 3-30 of the DL05 User Manual.

This memory address is what you would use in the GRAY instruction.
        If you have an urgent issue, please contact AutomationDirect's Technical Support team.