DL06 LD does not allow v locations to OUT

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DL06 LD does not allow v locations to OUT

I am new at this, but the instructions and examples for the LD function usually show it to be followed by an OUT to a v location. But it won't let me use OUT except for X, Y and C.

I want to get the RTD coming in as a double on v3000 (& v3001) into my PID Current Value (v2003). I converted v3000 to a real using BCDTOR and then used RtoBCD and I get a value into v2003, but if the temp read in the real is 81.3, v2003's value is 2066. I must be missing something.

John

There are two OUT instructions. One is a coil, which is what you have selected. Coils only allow output to bits.

The other out is a box instruction which allows outputs to V-memory addresses.

Press the "/" key to toggle between the coil and box type instruction.

If it is coming in as BCD, all you need to do is to do the following: (assuming it will never be a negative value)

STR SP1
    LD V3000
    BIN
    OUT V2003
    Last edited by Do-more PE; 05-27-2012, 09:10 PM.
    If you have an urgent issue, please contact AutomationDirect's Technical Support team.

AutomationDirect.com Technical Support: 1(800) 633-0405 or (770) 844-4200 Email Tech Support

Comment

<rant>

I can't help but wonder why you gotta switch the function of OUT with "/". I understand there are two instructions but this seems like a senseless fight that every new programmer has gone through.

Indeed, I myself have forgotten this requirement before and had to angrily search the manual and this forum to figure out how to make it work (again).

From a product design/user functionality standpoint, eventually the designer/developer must admit that something's wrong and make an adjustment. Arguably Apple is the richest company on earth for precisely this reason.

</rant>
      Last edited by lasernerd; 05-29-2012, 07:47 AM. Reason: Characters

Comment