Sourcing input DC wiring question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sourcing input DC wiring question

I'm sure this is a supremely basic question but I think my problem is I'm an engineer and overthinking things. I'm used to embedded applications where every nuance of any circuit is all handled during design and nothing is supposed to connect and "just work".

This circuit should work, yes? When the oven is "moved forward", the limit switch supplies ground to the bottom of the relay's coil and the 24VDC engages the relay. Now the "Oven is FWD" relay is switched on and the PLC can observe there is an input present.

Click image for larger version

Name:	plc_input.png
Views:	1
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	113890

Also, I'm assuming the CLICK can "talk to" a SL9696... can it also talk to the GS1 VFDs? Or is there another product I should use. I'm also thinking about the DoMore BRX... I need to make a full list of the inputs that would be configured as above.

I'm thinking that I can start off with this hybrid kind of circuitry where the PCL and HMI can offer automated interfacing with the equipment while keeping the fundamental circuits physically laid out. In theory, the above circuit would work with or without the PLC (obviously, with the PLC removed, that 24VDC needs to be connected to the relay's coil).