Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• click ethernet comms monitoring

Hi there,

Im new to the click plc. I need to monitor the Ethernet comms port for activity to another plc.

I need to de-energiser a relay if the communication fails. Wondering if any one has any suggestions / knows of any internal register that would show a connection failure?

Im trying to avoid using a heart-beat.

Thanks

Hi jace,
    Take a look at the SC area of the PLC on Port 1.
    SC90 _Port_1_Ready_Flag ON when Port 1 is Ready, does not indicate Busy Status Read
    SC91 _Port_1_Error_Flag ON when Port 1 has an Error with at least one server Read
    SC92 _Port_1_Connection_Limit ON when all of Port 1 server connections are busy. Read
    SC93 _Port_1_IP_Resolved ON when Port 1 IP Address is assigned Read
    SC94 _Port_1_Link_Flag ON when Port 1 Link is good. Read
    SC95 _Port_1_100MBIT_Flag ON when Port 1 Link is 100 Mbps. Read
    Regards,
    Garry

Comment

You could either de-energize a contact if "link good" goes off, meaning the physical connection is no longer connected, or you could make a timer that gets reset on each success transaction bit. If you have consistently timed communications then a timer is a good way to go since then you know if you have an actual communication problem between the PLCs even if the physical connection is good. If that timer ever gets "done" then de-energize the contact.

Comment

@OP I would have to ask 'WHY' are you 'trying to avoid a heartbeat?'

@Others. Does LinkGood mean that the ethernet port on the click has A connection, or a connection TO A SPECIFIC DEVICE?
        Would LinkGood be true if the click is plugged to ANY ethernet device - like router/switch - and the other device not connected?

Comment