Using a PC as an HMI?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using a PC as an HMI?

I am theorizing a project where there would be between 20 and 60 PLC's in the plant, and there would be an HMI near each one, but I also need to access their information from the managers office of the plant. I can get an ethernet cable to the office so I am wondering if it would be possible to use a standard PC to act as an HMI for data logging and instant review of current data collection. Ideally I would be able to view information from all the PLC's together without needing to disconnect and reconnect to a different IP address on that local network.

First off, is this something that is feasible with this hardware? I currently am using CLICK plc's and CMORE HMI's for my other projects and like them, but I have never tried to do anything like this before.

Secondly, where would anyone recommend learning about this type of communication? I have surfed around youtube a bit but haven't found what I need.

I'm thinking what I may need to do is to have many slave PLC's, and one master that communicates with the managers PC somehow.

Thanks in advance for any assistance in where to find my answers.

There are probably quite a few options for this type of thing without a data acquisition package.

One HMI could read certain data from each PLC and store it.
    That HMI could be remote controlled by a PC on the network.

One Master PLC could read the data from the slave PLC's and store it to a USB or Flash.
    That PLC could email the file to be used by a PC.

The one Master PLC method is what I use currently.
    Have had up to 15 PLC's that have data that is read via modbus from once per second to once per 10 seconds.
    The Master PLC stores the data and also displays it on the Viewmarq moving signs.
    Dont know what having 60 PLC's would do for bandwith.

Comment