Repeating "Pulse" relay output to drive solenoid

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Repeating "Pulse" relay output to drive solenoid

I've been around PLCs from a user and maintenance point (with slight logic modification) for years, but I'm new to programming from scratch. I'm need guidance on the simplest and least overhead way to make a pulsed output (roughly 200msec) to operate a pneumatic solenoid that "pulses" a pneumatic rams to strike multiple bells for a door bell. The output to the solenoid needs to be a one-shot for about 200msec for the air to get to the ram and strike the hammer against the bell.

I have 3 outputs for 3 bell tones. I want to be able to create various sequences of ringing the bells when a button is pushed. The problem is I don't want to create a new timer/timer bit for each instance of striking a bell. Is there a way to create a pulsed output function that will energize Y1, Y2, and/or Y3 for 200msec that I can use repeatedly without creating 100+ timers with 200ms delayed off?

I've used physical one-shot pulse relays for this function before, but I now want to use a PLC to operate the door bells instead of the timer relays and pulse relay.

Thanks in advance for helping with my question.

First, I would suggest NOT using a relay output CLICK. I would use a transistor output driving an external relay. Relays fail with repeat use. If it is external to the CLICK, it will be easily replaceable.
    I would look at a the CLICK DRUM instruction. You configure it like filling out a timing diagram.

Comment

+1

I just finished a project that had 8 stack light assemblies, but at the last minute they wanted this color to flash for this event, etc... I had them change all the outputs from relay (which is my standard) to transistor, for longevity.

Comment