Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ethernet IP developer questions

Hi there
    I am currently developing a EthernetIP control interface on one of our products. I am at a stage now where I am designing the Class1 connection and I have made the O->T packet look like this
    |-16 Bit in channel selector-|---------32 bit in Data--------|-16 Bit out channel selector-|

The T->O packet is simply:-
    |---------32 bit out Data--------|

I have a Productivity P1-540 which I am controlling/programming with the Productivity Suit Programming Software (V3.0.1(1)).
    I admit I am not a PLC/Ladder programmer, I am a software/firmware engineer, but I am using the Productivity GUI to learn.
    The question I have is, how do I create Tags to populate the O->T message? Or how do I split it into the 3 Tags I want to load with data?
    I see there is a stucture type Tag. But I can not work out how it is configured.

A more esoteric question is, is the use of frames containing a structure of several different base types of variables, like the above, likely to be usable by the other PLC programmers, both software and liveware? I am thinking that even if the structure Tag type the Productivity Suite uses, works as I want it, will other PLC MMIs be able to access the minor Tags in the same way. I guess I am asking is this a normal/useful way of encoding data packets?
    Q
    Last edited by markQ; 01-04-2018, 04:24 AM.

Originally posted by markQ View Post
    The question I have is, how do I create Tags to populate the O->T message? Or how do I split it into the 3 Tags I want to load with data?
    In the O->T tab you define a Data Array tag, this is where the data shared between devices resides. You can define this Array tag in the Tag data base before you begin the EIP configuration, or you can define the tag as you create it.