P3k/Slave Setup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• P3k/Slave Setup

Hey Guys, I'm pretty new to the PLC world. I am working on setting up a project where I am using a P3k as a master and am using several Click PLCs as slaves. I am connecting to my slave units via ethernet. I am wondering what is the best way to set this up. Can I use a network RX/WX? or do I need to do it through modbus RX/WX?
    If I use modbus, how do you set up and map addressing for multiple slaves?

If you use modbus, the slave modbus address for Click PLCs is set.
    To see the modbus addresses, open the Address Picker and choose Display Modbus Address.

For each slave read/write instruction, specify the network address for that slave.

I use the Click as a slave IO using modbus quite a bit. It is cheap, easy, and modular for equipment that may change around.

Comment

If you give me until this evening I can give you a stripped down version of program to do exactly that. You don't need a program in the Click* if you're just using the Click's as remote I/O and reading the input's and writing the output coils directly.

You would use the MRX and MWX modbus instructions (which can do either Modbus over serial or ModbusTCP over network). The RX and WX instructions are strictly for use between PxK processors, IE P3K talking to P1K.