Newbie General Programming Questions and timers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie General Programming Questions and timers

I am completely new to the PLC world , Productivity Suite and P3000 series. I have gotten as far as setting up my hardware, generally understand the tags and general concept but have a few questions:

1] I understand I have to scale (or should) my 4-20 mA inputs. What rungs do I put these on? Should my first number of rungs simply be all my scaling or do you put them on a rung prior to actually utilizing the data in the following rung? Does it matter? Or should I create a "New task" and put all my scaling in there to keep it out of my logic

2] Am I understanding timers correctly? I'm using a Compare value to look at a temp vs setpoint with a greater than tag called "System Enable".
    On the next rung, I have a NO contact called "System Enable" before my timer to enable the timer.
    Does the "Done" value of a timer determine the state of a NO or NC contact? So if its NO the "Done" tag closes it and if it's NC then the Done opens it?
    I need a minimum off time on a fan.
    On my first rung I have a NO Fan Enable enabling my Min Off Timer. Using the Off delay of this I'm toggling a NC contact in the next rung.
    On my next rung I have a NO Fan enable and then a NC Off Timer
    My thought is that the NC would open for the off delay period and then return to the closed position. Is this correct?

3] Speaking of compares, If I use the Compare Values that is in Data Handling, is this properly used in that it gives me a tagged point (s) to use as NO or NC contact blocks that I can use where I need in my logic to make multiple events happen as opposed to the compare contact which sits on a rung within my logic and can only be used on that rung? It also allows me to use the tag as a status of the result?