Use of underscore in tag naming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Use of underscore in tag naming

I'm new to the Productivity series, and have noticed a general practice among other users of using underscores in their tag names when I look at example programs. Why? Since I'm new, I'm having a hard time changing my habits so my program is littered with inconsistencies which I then have to go back and correct because I forgot to put underscores in. Is this necessary? Helpful? If so, why?
    Last edited by dali_lama_2k; 02-04-2019, 11:34 AM. Reason: edited for clarity and adding of tags

The way I structure things I mostly use spaces, but I use underscores for doing groups of tags with different steps in the sequence. For instance I might have my on/off tag for something be called "Valve A - CMore" so I know that bit gets turned on and off from my HMI. But then the sequence for valve A I will have stuff like ValveA_step1, ValveA_step2. I just helps me differentiate between tag uses.

Comment

So the underscores are used as a function of writing style and organization for the programmer, and do not serve a direct purpose. Your answer interpreted my question precisely; thank you! I'm currently using them to differentiate between a Boolean tag and an I/O (physical) tag, in order to minimize tag name length and to speed up writing the program through the tag name drop-down list population as I type in the text box.

Comment

I think it is best practice to use underscores. Having space would indicate to me two or more tagnames. Having a hyphen would read to me as subtraction. Keepin with underscores (OrCamelNotation) also keeps in check with other software suites, programming launguages, etc.

Comment