Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is a Cmore the same as a thin server????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is a Cmore the same as a thin server????

I posted this in the PLC area and someone directed me to this area of the forum. They said they had never used it as such but they thought a Cmore would do what I require. Can someone please give me some advice.

Original message:

Admittedly, I am an old time panel builder. Most of what I do is using relays since that is what my clients like (as one of them last told me, I don't want any of that computer cr##).

Anyway, I have used PLC's in jobs several times with great success. Latter logic makes complete sense.

I have also written my own web page and I have a friend who does this for a living so that is easy enough.

I just had a client call me and said he needs a panel, plc controlled that he can access through the web.

He wants to be able to turn 10 pumps on and off ... have the web site show if they are on or off ... check the flow on two flow meters (4-20 mA) instantaneous read only, not total functions .... have the computer call up if the flow drops below a certain rate ... and have the plc totalize the flow and send an e-mail out each morning saying what yesterdays total flow was.

So I started reading. The plc part is simple. I am still trying to decide between a touch screen and old fashion HOA switches.

The problem is how to tie a web site into the PLC.

I keep reading about a thin server.

Is this just a computer in the control panel with software running on it or is it some kind of embedded module or is there a module you can buy for a PLC with this built into it or ??????

The individual parts seem simple enough ... Just need to figure out how this all ties in together.

Thanks so much ...... Mike

I don't want any of that computer cr##

That computer cr## is ok in my phone, my car, my microwave...
    just dont want any in my production equipment!

smh

Comment