Changing Aliases on DirectSoft6

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changing Aliases on DirectSoft6

I am new to the DirectSoft6 but have the following problem.

Am using a Direct Logic 05 controller. Seems like the aliases are not matching the address ranges specified. For Ex. V41000 should correspond with alias CTA0 but it shows as VS0 in the element browser, and so forth with many other examples.

Another example: V40500 - 40517 should have aliases P0 - 7777. How could that be.... 40500 to 40517 = 18 available Addresses but P0 - 7777 = 7778 possible addresses? Makes no sense!!!!

I know I can turn the aliases off but would rather change or make custom ones that make more sense.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Take a look at Chapter 3 of the User manual for your PLC. It should tell you where each alias starts and ends at.

http://www.automationdirect.com/stat...als/index.html
    If you have an urgent issue, please contact AutomationDirect's Technical Support team.

AutomationDirect.com Technical Support: 1(800) 633-0405 or (770) 844-4200 Email Tech Support

Comment

Right here is the pertinent table:
      Circumstances don't determine who we are, they only reveal it.
      Jason Wolthuis

Comment

Scratching my head!

Thank for your responses. I see the difference, however I would have thought as a novice user that the information that you get on the Element Browser when you click on the magnifying icon to be the actual aliases of the device that I am connected to? This would save time and allow the user to not have to go to the manual.

I don't know if this is more of a suggestion or complaint or maybe I just don't understand it right!

Thanks for the feedback!

Comment

Can you provide some screen captures illustrating your confusion? Comment on what is shown and what you think should be shown.
          thePLCguy

Bernie

Comment